20/02/2018 Cumann na mBunscol Chiarrai takes to Cross... nbsp; nbsp; nbsp; nbsp; nbsp; nbsp; nbsp;The inaugural Allianz... read on
20/02/2018 The Cumann na mBunscol GAA Handball finals take place on nbsp;Saturday... read on
16/02/2018 It has been a successful few weeks for Gaelscoil na bhF aacute;l... read on

Upcoming Events

GAA News

01/01/1970 read on

Cornmarket Cumann na mBunscol Awards 2018   28/09/2017

It's time to get cracking if you are thinking of entering the 2018 Cornmarket Cumann na mBunscol Awards!!! The 2018 Awards will be presented at a Banquet in the Newpark Hotel, Kilkenny on Friday March 9th. 

'Once again, there is something to interest schools of all types, large, small, urban, rural, and we are constantly tweaking the list of categories to respond to the feedback we get from teachers and Cumann na mBunscol activists' says Bernadette Ryan, chairperson of Allianz Cumann na mBunscol.

The School of the Year Awards invariably attract a large number of entries. There are two categories: Small School Award for schools of fewer than 150 pupils and Large School Award for schools with more than 150 pupils on roll. 

Categories for the 2018 Awards are:

Pat Trainor Hall of Fame Award (awarded for lifetime contribution to Gaelic Games in primary school). This award recognises a teacher who has given outstanding service to the promotion of Gaelic Games at primary school level. County and provincial Coistí are invited to nominate suitable candidates. Entries will explain in no more than 1000 words why their nominee is worthy of this award.

Public Relations. Entries in this category highlight coverage of Cumann na mBunscol affairs in a county or province. Scrapbooks, ring binders etc featuring examples of Press coverage of Cumann na mBunscol activities in 2017 are ideal for this category. Websites may be included but cannot replace newspaper coverage.

County Publication. County histories, magazines, fixtures booklets for 2017 may be submitted for inclusion in this category.

Promotion of Gaelic Games and Culture….County & Provincial Committees. Committees are asked to show innovative work in promoting Gaelic Games and Culture.

Promotion of Gaelic Games and Culture….individual schools. Submissions in this category must be in electronic form only. Entries on a memory stick. No more than 5 minutes in duration.   

 Entries may focus on a single area or a number of areas such as coaching initiatives, table quizzes, promotion of handball, rounders, camogie etc 

School of the Year (150 pupils or less)

School of the Year (More than 150 pupils)


The winning schools in the School of the Year categories will be invited to Croke Park.

30 pupils from each school will enjoy a Stadium and Museum tour

€500 per school to cover bus transport to Croke Park

30 pupils and 3 staff from each school will have lunch in Croke Park

Entries to be delivered to the following members of An Coiste Náisiúnta:

Connacht: Bernadette Ryan, Holy Family NS, Tobbercurry,Co.Sligo

Leinster: Jim Fennelly, Churchill NS, Cuffes Grange, Co. Kilkenny

Ulster: Gary Farrell, 75, Annvale Road, Keady,Co.Armagh

Munster: Joe Lyons, Ballybrown NS, Clarina,Co. Limerick or Mairead O Callaghan, Glenville NS , Watergrasshill, Co Cork.

Closing Date: Wednesday January 10th.  2018