13/11/2018 Bunscoil Phobal Feirste looking forward... The boys from Bunscoil Phobal Feirste were in fine form as they lifted... read on
03/11/2018 Cornmarket Awards 2019 Don #39;t forget the deadline for the Cornmarket Cumann na mBunscol... read on
03/11/2018 Football finals in Kerry Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Chiarra iacute; nbsp;Austin Stacks Park... read on

Upcoming Events

GAA News

01/01/1970 read on

Munster AGM   14/01/2018

The Annual General Meeting of Cumann na mBunscol Coiste na Mumhan was held in the Rochestown Park Hotel in Cork last Friday night. Leas Cathaoirleach of the Munster Council Liam Lenihan was a guest and spoke in glowing terms of the great work teachers doing in promoting Gaelic Games among young players. He paid tribute to the work of the Coiste and spoke of the success of the Primary Game which has been a feature of Championship day  in Munster since 1996.

Outgoing Chairman, Joe Lyons of Ballybrown NS, addressed the meeting and said that it had been an honour to serve as Cathaoirleach for the past five years and as PRO for five years prior to that.  He said that virtually every school in Munster takes part in Cumann na mBunscol activities and that the GAA is fortunate to have so many dedicated teachers working in schools promoting games year in, year out. He said that the influence of Cumann na mBunscol is the envy of every other code who would love to capture the hearts and minds of our young players. Mr Lyons said that the Primary Game is the jewel in the crown of Munster GAA and that the new format in hurling provides an opportunity to further promote Gaelic Games among our young players.

Tomás Ó hAiniféin (Ciarraí) was elected as Cathaoirleach. He said that he was honoured to accept the position and stated that the Primary Game would be a priority of his during his term of office. Niamh O Dea, who teaches in St Paul’s NS, Limerick city was elected as treasurer. Brother James Dormer was returned as Development Officer.

The Committee for 2018 is:

Cathaoirleach: Tomás Ó hAiniféin (Ciarraí)

Leas Cathaoirleach: Dave Collins (Cork)

Runaí: Killian O Reilly (Port Láirge)

Cisteoir: Niamh O Dea (Luimneach)

PRO: John Manly (Tiobraid Árann)

Development Officer: Brother James Dormer (Luimneach)

Primary Game coordinator: Joe Lyons (Luimneach)