11/02/2019 Leinster Allianz Cumann na mBunscol boys... The Leinster Allianz nbsp;Cumann na mBunscol nbsp;boys handball... read on
28/01/2019 Shortlists announced for Cornmarket Cumann... The clock is ticking. It #39;s a little over five weeks to the Cornmarket... read on
27/01/2019 Antrim Allianz Cumann na Bunscol Indoor... The Belfast section of the Antrim Allianz Cumann Na Bunscol indoor... read on

Upcoming Events

GAA News

Cornmarket Cumann na mBunscol Awards 2018   13/03/2018

Over 250 teachers from all parts of Ireland  gathered in Kilkenny last weekend for The Cumann na mBunscol Awards, sponsored by Cornmarket Group Financial Services.

‘The Awards recognise excellence in the promotion of Gaelic Games in primary schools,’ according to Bernadette Ryan who is National Chairperson of Allianz Cumann na mBunscol. ‘They give recognition to the work of teachers on and off the playing fields.’

Kilkenny hurling manager Brian Cody, a former teacher himself, was the guest speaker and he had a spellbound audience as he spoke of his years as a Cumann na mBunscol activist.

Brian spoke eloquently about the value of volunteers to society and specifically the contribution of primary school teachers.

‘Why were DJ and Tommy and the rest of them so good?’ asked the record-breaking manager. ‘They loved the game. They were blessed with primary teachers who gave them the opportunity to play the game, to make friends and to be part of a team.’

Michael Pitt of Cornmarket Group Financial Services joined Chairperson Bernadette Ryan on stage to present the Awards to the successful entrants. John Boyle, President of INTO, and an adjudicator of the Awards, also attended.

Ardfert NS were deemed winners in the award for Promotion of Gaelic Games and Culture. This category saw a very large entry as this year’s competition saw Cumann na mBunscol introduce a new format.

‘Entries had to be submitted in digital format,’ says PRO of Cumann na mBunscol Joe Lyons. ‘There was great interest as this category is not confined to promotion of games but encompasses Gaeilge, ceol, damhsa, and any other activities that are Gaelic in nature.’

Doon CBS was named winner in the Best Small School category and a large contingent, led by principal Ms Joanne O Connell,  travelled from East Limerick to the Marble City for the presentation of the award.

‘The award recognises excellence in the promotion of Gaelic Games, on and off the field, and nobody could argue with the achievement of Doon CBS,’ according to Joe Lyons who is National PRO of Allianz Cumann na mBunscol. ‘Their achievement in winning the Limerick Leader Cup for the past three years is remarkable for a school with less than 70 pupils. They are already many people’s favourites to make it four in a row in 2018.’

St Mary’s NS, Ballygunner, Waterford were victorious in the Best Large School category. Principal Killian O Reilly, a Cumann na mBunscol stalwart, was delighted to see his school take the top slot after some near misses in recent years. Perhaps this is a good omen for the fortunes of Waterford hurlers as they head into another Championship campaign!

The Pat Trainor Award for Lifetime Service to Cumann na mBunscol went to Tadhg Kenny and there could be no more popular winner than the genial Kerryman who has given  over a half a century  of dedicated commitment to promotion of Gaelic Games in the capital city. Ann Trainor, widow of the late Pat, presented Tadhg with his award.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Category 1:  Pat Trainor Award: Tadhg Kenny ( Ath Cliath)

Category 2: Public Relations: 

1st : Ath Cliath

2nd: Corcaigh

3rd: Fear Manach

Recognition Award for Ard Mhacha, Ciarraí, Port Láirge, Cill Mhantáin

Category 3: County Publication:

1st: Luimneach

2nd: Ath Cliath

3rd: An Cabhán

Category 4: Promotion of Gaelic Games and Culture (County & Provincial Committees):

1st: Liatroim

2nd: Corcaigh

3rd: Ath Cliath

Category 5: Promotion of Gaelic Games and Culture (Schools)

1st: Scoil Ard Fhearta, Co Ciarraí

2nd: The Downs NS, Co Westmeath

3rd: Darkley Primary School, Co Armagh

Category 6: School of the Year (150 pupils or fewer)

1st: Doon CBS, Co Limerick

2nd: Glenbeigh NS, Co Kerry

3rd: Gaelscoil na BhFál , Belfast

Category 7:  School of the Year (more than 150 pupils)

1st: St Mary’s NS, Ballygunner, Co Waterford

2nd: Scoil Chualann, Bray, Co Cill Mhantáin

Joint 3rd: Kilcoole NS, Co Cill Mhantáin


Loreto Primary School, Ath Cliath