23/09/2018 Age Limits for INTO Mini Sevens INTO MINI- SEVENS SERIES -2018 /2019 nbsp; nbsp; nbsp;The Dates for... read on
14/09/2018 Past pupils do Patrickswell NS proud All-Ireland euphoria is still in the air in Limerick as followers... read on
04/09/2018 General Meeting Saturday September 15th The General Meeting of Cumann na mBunscol will take place on Saturday... read on

Upcoming Events

GAA News

01/01/1970 read on

East is Best in Limerick Mini Sevens   27/04/2018

East schools complete clean sweep

The county final stage of the INTO Mini Sevens, organised by Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Luimnigh,  took place in Mick Neviile Park in Rathkeale last week.   The finals were contested by the winning schools who emerged after blitzes held in each of the four Divisions within the county.

‘We had huge interest in the Mini Sevens this year, with record numbers of schools taking part,’ according to Joe Lyons who is Cathaoirleach of Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Luimnigh. ‘The Mini Sevens competitions were introduced in 1987 and they have gone from strength to strength in the decades since then. Many of the intercounty stars of today such as Niamh Mulcahy and Barry Murphy cut their teeth in the Mini Sevens.’

                 Monday was Football Finals day for both boys and girls. Girls football was first to be played. In the opening series of fixtures, Scoil an Spioraid Naoimh, Roxborough defeated West champions Mahoonagh NS while South standard bearers Kilbehenny NS overcame City champions St Nessan’s NS from Mungret. In the second round of fixtures, Scoil an Spioraid Naoimh overcame their neighbours from Mungret while Kilbehenny NS were too strong for Mahoonagh NS. The scene was set for a winner-takes-all final between Scoil an Spioraid Naoimh and Kilbehenny NS. The Ballysheedy girls emerged as winners on a final score of 3-1 to 1-1. After the game, Noel Hartigan, Games Manager of Limerick County Board, presented the trophy to the victorious Scoil an Spioraid Naoimh team.

The boys football blitz saw West champions Scoil Iosaf, Adare pip East champions Oola by a single point while South champions Bruree NS and St Nessan’s of Mungret shared the spoils in the opening round of games.

In the next series of fixtures, Bruree NS were too strong for the Adare boys while Oola  NS overcame St Nessan’s.  In the final round of fixtures, Adare defeated St Nessan’s and Oola NS overcame  Bruree NS. Scoil Iósaf and Oola NS finished level on four points each but the East champions had a superior scoring record and were declared winners. 

On Wednesday, it was time to turn to the small ball. The hurling saw some thrilling games as Ballybrown NS represented Limerick City, Scoil Dean Cussen represented South Limerick, Mahoonagh NS flew the flag for West Limerick and Doon CBS carried East Limerick hopes. Ballybrown NS recorded victories over Scoil Dean Cussen and Mahoonagh NS. Scoil Dean Cussen pipped Doon CBS in a thrilling encounter and also proved too strong for Mahoonagh. Doon CBS, winners over Mahoonagh NS,  emerged victorious after a thrilling clash with Ballybrown NS in the final round of games. Thus, three teams, Ballybrown NS, Scoil Dean Cussen and Doon CBS, won two of their three games. Doon CBS were declared winners by virtue of superior scoring record. Joe Lyons, Cathaoirleach of Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Luimnigh, presented the INTO Mini Sevens trophy to Doon CBS captain Donal Coughlan.

The last competition to be decided was camogie. Caherelly NS from East Limerick and Patrickswell NS quickly established their credentials as contenders with both schools recording hard-fought victories over Raheenagh NS and Bruree NS. The stage was set for a nail-biting decider between the City champions and the girls from Ballybricken. It was a thrilling encounter as a strong gale blowing directly down the pitch made life difficult for both teams. Play swung from end to end but it was the Caherelly NS girls who were jubilant when the final whistle sounded and the team had brought a county title to the school for the first time ever. Amid scenes of great jubilation, Brother James Dormer, Rúnaí of Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Luimnigh, presented the Shield to the Caherelly NS team.

Brother Dormer congratulated the four teams who had emerged victorious after a feast of games. He praised all 16 teams who had represented their Divisions, their schools and their communities so well. All four county titles had gone to East Limerick, a unique achievement for the Division. Brother Dormer thanked all the teachers and parents who had supported the teams and wished all teams well in the upcoming Cumann  na mbunscol competitions. He also thanked Noel Hartigan for his help and the staff in Mick Neville Park. Finally he thanked all referees who had taken charge of games at Divisional and county final stages.